

MEDIA RELEASE 9th December 2017 **Tony Brett's Fourth Brisbane Cup with Fast Times**



By Katherine Ernst Australian Racing Greyhound Website

FAST Times (Barcia Bale x Clockwise Apr '15) gave his trainer Tony Brett his fourth Brisbane Cup title when he registered a tenacious victory in Thursday's Group 1 feature at Albion Park.



Fast Times defeats Slick to win the Group 1 Brisbane Cup. (Pic: Box 1 Photography)

The black greyhound was only fairly away from box eight as the \$2.70 favourite, but got plenty of room to muster pace and was able to slip around the field and take the lead through the first turn.

Once in front there was only one danger, Slick (Dyna Lachlan x Pearl Za Zinger Apr '15), which loomed up to eyeball the leader swinging for home, but entering the home straight Fast Times kicked again and was able to hold off his rival to win by three quarters of a length in a fast 29.77. Brett, who now becomes the most successful trainer in the history of the race, said he gave Fast Times a massive chance of capturing the \$75,000 final.

Continued Page 2...

"I knew he would strip fitter from his heat run heading into the final. As it turns out he didn't have to find much though, he only ran home a length quicker than he did in his heat," Brett told Australian Racing Greyhound.

"It just goes to show how hard it is to run them down when they are running quick out in front. I did get nervous approaching the home turn, but a real good dog will do what he did and kick back under pressure and hold its rivals out."

Fast Times has now won 14 races with three seconds and one third from 25 starts, his earnings now sitting above \$229,000 for Brett and his owner, Terry Hill. He is now a dual group 1 winner, having also won the Group 1 Winter Cup at Albion Park in July.

The victory also sees Fast Times join an exclusive club – with only four other greyhounds claiming the two group 1 sprint races in Queensland, the Winter Cup and the Brisbane Cup, since they were inaugurated in 1978 and 1972 respectively.

Acacia Park (Wild Port x Pitstock Park Mar '81) won the Brisbane Cup in 1983 and the Winter Cup in 1984, Dancing Gamble (Riviera Tiger x Dancing Damsel Nov '85) won the Winter Cup in 1987 and the Brisbane Cup in 1988, Flying Amy (Amerigo Man x Tenthill Flyer May '92) won the double in 1995 and the mighty Glen Gallon (Flying Stanley x Incoherent Aug '09) won the Brisbane Cup in 2011 and collected a set of Winter Cups in 2012 and 2013.

Fittingly, Fast Times is a descendant of Acacia Park through his sire Barcia Bale (Go Wild Teddy x Princess Bale Mar '10).

Incredibly, Thursday's win was his first time back in the winner's circle since resuming from an injury-enforced break in October.

Brett said there are no immediate plans for Fast Times after Thursday's win, with the Grandchester mentor simply happy to have Fast Times back to his brilliant best.

"I knew he was getting close – he had been trialling the house down but he was doing things wrong in his races and that was costing him.

"Even in the final he didn't come out super, but the box helped him and he was able to show what he can do.

"The timing just worked out perfectly and it was great to see."

After fast Times the field finished in the following order 2nd Slick (\$12.40), 3rd Alpha Aion (\$12.50), 4th Spring Time Girl (\$4.10), 5th Adhara Steel (\$72.20) 6th Cyn's Magic (\$6.90), 7th Off And On (\$10.70) and Snug (\$6.20).

Fast Times is raced by Terry Hill and trained by Tony Brett of Grandchester in Queensland. Fast Times is a Black dog whelped April 2015 by Barcia Bale from Clockwise (Magic Sprite x Elizabeth Royal). He has won 14 of his 25 starts and has been placed on four occasions and with the \$75,250 first prize for the Brisbane Cup it took his current stake earnings to \$229,050.

The Brisbane Cup has had a few name changes when it was first run in 1972 and won by Victorian Garron Court the race was known as the Gabba Sprint Championship. It remain that name until 1976. It was then called the Brisbane Cup from 1977 until 1981 changed in1982 to be known as the Coca-Cola Cup until 1999 when it changed back to the Brisbane Cup. The race was conducted at the Gabba until the track closed in 1992 and since has been staged at Albion Park. Listed below is the Honour Roll containing some of the champion greyhounds among the past winners. 1972 Garron Court, 1973 Top Simbi, 1974 Mister Oollee, 1975 Alpha Brava, 1976 Clover Duke, 1977 Rebel Attack, 1978 Young Breeze, 1979 Acclaim Star, 1980 General Jeff, 1981 Picture This, 1982 Peter Glider, 1983 Acacia Park, 1984 National Lass, 1985 Super Max, 1986 Pretty Fearless, 1987 Whip Tip, 1988 Dancing Gamble, 1989 Golden Fox, 1990 Whisky Bale, 1991 No It's Not, 1992 White Coonowrin, 1993 Star Title, 1994 Toss The Teddy, 1995 Flying Amy, 1996 Silver Pageant, 1997 Barrio Babe, 1998 Questions, 1999 Bob's One, 2000 Kantarn Bale, 2001 Tricky Creek, 2002 Tricky Creek, 2003 Bogie Leigh, 2004 Malfoy, 2005 Pororoca, 2006 Pure Burst, 2007 Uno Joel, 2008 El Galo, 2009 Mr Metz, 2010 He Knows Uno, 2011 Glen Gallon, 2012 Got A Moment, 2013 Kiss Me Ketut, 2014 Keybow, 2015 Dyna Double One and 2016 Thirty Talks.

For more information please contact: Neil Brown GCA Publicity Officer Tel: 03 97691234 Mob: 0423 129 950

David Simonette GCA Executive Officer simonette7862@gmail.com